Originally posted on TED Blog:

Tech and social entrepreneur Jon Gosier launched the Apps4Africa competition in 2009 to reward and jumpstart African innovators and entrepreneurs. As the competition enters its third year, Jon is finding ways to help provide long-term, holistic support for winners, helping to scale sustainable businesses across nations and the continent.

Tell us a bit about yourself and your path to software development and social entrepreneurship.

My own path to technology was one that I think informs my desire to help younger technologists. I grew up with a passion for computers, but very little in my surroundings reinforced that passion. I didn’t have mentors or role-models in technology to look to, and it never really even occurred to me that computer science was a career choice until much later in life.

So I was self-taught and eager to learn, but blissfully unaware of the opportunity in the space. I moved to Uganda in 2008, where…

View original 1,283 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Lasă un răspuns

